Alicia Cascallar Award

The Alicia Cascallar Award for an Outstanding Paper by an Early Career Scholar has been established to honor Alicia’s professional commitment and accomplishments and to continue her practice of mentoring and encouraging promising new scholars in the area of educational measurement. The award will be given to an early career scholar for an outstanding paper presented at one of the three most recent NCME annual meetings. A cash award of $1,000, a commemorative plaque, and a waiver of NCME conference fees will be provided as partial support for an early career member of NCME to travel to the annual meeting. The award will be presented at the business meeting at the NCME Annual Meeting.

2024 AWARD

To be eligible for the award, one must have presented a paper or been the first author of a paper presented at one of the three most recent NCME meetings (2021, 2022 or 2023)[1] in a paper session or as part of a symposium or panel discussion. The nominee must be an early career scholar, having received his/her doctoral degree within 5 years of the 2024 annual meeting. In addition, the candidate must be a member of NCME or he/she must become a member by the time the award is presented at the 2024 NCME Annual Meeting.

Nominations must include the following items:

  1. A letter of nomination from a professional colleague who is a member in good standing of NCME or self-nomination by a NCME member
  2. The candidate’s current curriculum vitae
  3. At least one letter of recommendation from someone who knows the candidate’s work; multiple recommendations are acceptable
  4. Both the nomination and the letter(s) of recommendation should list the reasons why the paper represents an important contribution to the field of applied measurement
  5. An electronic copy of the paper presented at NCME. Please do not submit subsequent versions (i.e., publication).
  6. For multi-authored papers, the candidate must be the first author or, if not the first author, be the presenter of the paper. The candidate must provide a statement that defines his/her unique contributions to the paper. All other co-authors must provide a statement indicating that these contributions were unique and added to the value of the paper.

Nominations should be submitted via e-mail by January 5, 2024 to Duanli Yan ( with CC to the NCME Awards Board Liaison, Li Cai (, and the NCME management office (

For more information:

[1] Uploaded to repository or presented in virtual session

Past Recipients

  • 2005 Sandip Sinharay
  • 2006 Tim Moses
  • 2007 Christina Wikstrom
  • 2008 Jianbin Fu
  • 2009 Deping Li, Chien-Ming Cheng, and Yanlin Jiang
  • 2010 Longjuan Liang
  • 2011 No Recipien
  • 2012 Kyung T. Han
  • 2013 Chun Wang
  • 2014 Yoon Soo Park
  • 2015 Peter Baldwin
  • 2016 Okan Bulut
  • 2017 Qiwei He
  • 2018 Stefanie Wind
  • 2019 Scott Monroe
  • 2020 Edison Choe
  • 2021 Carol Eckerly
  • 2022 Susu Zhang
  • 2023 Hwanggyu Lim

Committee Members

This committee is responsible for all steps associated with the selection and recognition of the recipient of the Alicia Cascallar Award for An Outstanding Paper by an Early Career Scholar.

  • Eduardo Cascallar, Permanent Member
  • Duanli Yan, Chair
  • Wenchao Ma
  • Oscar Astivia
  • Qi Diao
  • Amy Clark
  • Minju Hong
  • Hyeonjoo Oh
  • Jiawei Xiong


Donations to the fund may be made online here by selecting the Alicia Cascallar Memorial Fund.