Brenda Loyd Outstanding Dissertation Award

The Brenda H. Loyd Award honors an outstanding dissertation in the field of educational measurement. The winner of the award will receive $1,000 and a commemorative plaque from NCME. In addition, the advisor or committee chair for the award-winning dissertation will receive a letter of congratulations.

2024 AWARD


Nominations will be accepted for dissertations completed between July 1, 2020 and June 30, 2023. The author of the dissertation as well as the author’s advisor must both be members of NCME.


Nominations must include the following:

  1. A letter of nomination from the author’s advisor;
  2. A summary of the dissertation research (up to 10 double-spaced pages) that includes sections that describe the rationale for the study, brief literature review, research questions, methodology, results, and conclusions;
  3. A copy of the dissertation; and
  4. A statement from the graduate school or a copy of the diploma confirming the date of completion and acceptance of the dissertation.

The nominator and the nominee agree that this work will not be nominated for a similar award in AERA that will be given during the 2024 Annual Meeting. Submit electronic files of all materials by January 5, 2024 to Kaiwen Man ( with CC to the NCME Awards Board Liaison, Li Cai (, and the NCME management office (

For additional information go to or contact Kaiwen Man at

Past Recipients

  • 1997 Louis A. Roussos
  • 1998 Thomas S. Paskus
  • 1999 Lori Davis McLeod
  • 2000 Won Chan Lee
  • 2001 David M. Williamson
  • 2002 Edward W. Wiley
  • 2003 Sarah McConnell Hartz
  • 2004 Aimee M. Boyd
  • 2005 Michalis P. Michaelides and Seonghoon Kim
  • 2006 Yanmei Li
  • 2007 Andrew Dean Ho
  • 2008 Roy Levy
  • 2009 Li Cai
  • 2010 Chia-Yi Chiu
  • 2011 Brian Lukoff
  • 2012 Zhushan Li
  • 2013 Duanli Yan
  • 2014 Dr Minjeong Jeon 
  • 2015 Ronli P. Diakow
  • 2016 Yuanchao Emily Bo and Youn-Jeng Choi
  • 2017 Dr. Megan Kuhfeld
  • 2018 Dr. Yunxiao Chen 
  • 2019 Maria Bolsinova
  • 2020 Seohyun Kim
  • 2021 Dandan Liao and Esther Ulitzsch
  • 2022 Kaiwen Man
  • 2023 Jiawei Xiong


  • Kaiwen Man, Chair
  • Junhui Liu
  • Sijia Huang
  • Jinnie Shin
  • Shuqi Zhou
  • Ren He, Student