Jason Millman Promising Measurement Scholar Award

In 1995, the Department of Education at Cornell University initiated the Jason Millman Promising Scholar Program to honor the lifetime work of Dr. Jason Millman, to recognize his contributions to the field of applied measurement, and to continue Dr. Millman’s support of scholars in their formative years who are just beginning their research careers.

Since 2003, the National Council on Measurement in Education with the support of the Millman endowment has continued the tradition of this award. As in the past, it is designed to honor Dr. Millman’s work by recognizing a scholar at the early stages of his/her career whose research has the potential to make a major contribution to the applied measurement field. In addition to recognition by NCME, the successful candidate will receive $1,000. Only one candidate will be chosen to receive the award each year and will be presented the award at the annual meeting.

2024 AWARD

To be eligible for the Jason Millman Award, an applicant must have received his/her first doctoral degree on or after January 1, 2018. 

Nominations must include the following items:

  1. A letter of nomination from a professional colleague who is a member in good standing of NCME or self-nomination by a NCME member
  2. A letter of recommendation from someone who knows the candidate’s work
  3. The candidate’s current curriculum vitae
  4. Electronic copy of up to three papers
  5. A copy of the diploma confirming the date of completion of first doctoral degree

Nominations should be submitted via e-mail by January 5, 2024 to Jimmy de la Torre ( with CC to the NCME Awards Board Liaison, Li Cai (, and the NCME management office (

Past Recipients

  • 2003 Daniel Bolt
  • 2004 Chris Chiu
  • 2005 Randall Penfield
  • 2006 Sandip Sinharay
  • 2007 Joanna Sandra Gorin
  • 2008 Cara Cahalan Laitusis
  • 2009 Jimmy de la Torre
  • 2010 Andrew Dean Ho
  • 2011 Lydia Liu
  • 2012 Ying Cheng
  • 2013 Kyung (Chris) Han
  • 2014 Chun Wang
  • 2015 Laine Bradshaw
  • 2016 Katherine Castellano
  • 2017 Dr. Minjeong Jeon
  • 2018 Dr. Richard Feinberg 
  • 2019 Qiwei He
  • 2020 Shiyu Wang
  • 2021 Wenchao Ma
  • 2022 Brian Leventhal
  • 2023 Joseph A. Rios

Committee Members

  • Jimmy de la Torre, Chair
  • Irina Grabovsky
  • Frank Rijmen
  • Michele Barrett
  • Chia-Yi Chiu
  • Oscar Olvera Astivia
  • Carlos Chavez, Student