Bradley Hanson Award for Contributions to Educational Measurement

The Bradley Hanson Award has been established to honor Bradley Hanson's contributions to the field of educational measurement and to further advance the goals embodied in his work. Applicants must describe a recently completed research project or propose a new research project that promises to make a substantive contribution to the field of educational measurement or the development, instruction or mentoring of new professionals in the field. A typical time frame for the expected completion of a proposed project is one to two years. Please see the list of previous recipients and their projects for more information. The recipient will be awarded $1,000 and a commemorative plaque from NCME, which will be presented to the recipient at the NCME Annual Meeting.For additional information on Bradley Hanson and his body of work, please go to the Bradley Hanson Website that is maintained in his memory. You may also e-mail or phone the committee chair with any questions or comments you may have!

2022 AWARD

To be eligible for the award a candidate must (1) be a member of NCME, and (2) have completed, be working on, or be proposing a project that makes a significant contribution to the field of educational measurement or a significant contribution to the development of new professionals in the field. Individuals or groups of individuals at any stage in their careers are eligible.

Nomination (application) packages for the award must include: (a) the letter of nomination, (b) a completed application form, (c) at least one letter of recommendation from person(s) other than the nominator, which address the qualifications of the candidate and the importance of the project, (d) a project description of 1500 words or less, which must provide details on the specific research project to be supported by the award and information on how the $1,250 will be spent, and (e) a current curriculum vitae.

View FAQs about this award here

The nominator and the nominee agree that this work will not be nominated for a similar award in AERA that will be given during the 2022 Annual Meeting. The letter of nomination and the letter(s) of recommendation must be written on official letterhead. The complete application package, including the letter of nomination, the letter(s) of recommendation, the application form, project description and curriculum vitae, must be submitted electronically via email by 11:59 pm (Eastern Standard Time) by January 7th, 2022. Please attach the application package as a zip folder to your email and submit to Won-Chan Lee ( with cc to the NCME Awards Board Liaison Michael Walker ( and the NCME management group (

Past Recipients

  • 2005 Seonghoon Kim; Gary Skaggs
  • 2006 Won-Chan Lee
  • 2007 Jianbin Fu
  • 2008 no recipient
  • 2009 Ying Cheng
  • 2010 J. Patrick Meyer
  • 2011 Werner Wothke
  • 2012 Matthias von Davier
  • 2013 Lihua Yao
  • 2014 Hong Jiao
  • 2015 Chaitanya Ramineni, Brent Bridgeman & Paul Deane
  • 2016 Sun-Joo Cho
  • 2017 Wenchao Ma & Jimmy de a Torre
  • 2018 Dr. Sandip Sinharay 
  • 2019 Hongwen Guo, Mo Zhang, Paul Deane, & Randy Bennett
  • 2020 Matthew Johnson and Sandip Sinharay
  • 2021 Steven Culpepper & James Balamuta

Committee Members

This committee is responsible for all steps associated with the selection and recognition of the recipient of the Bradley Hanson Award for Contributions to Educational Measurement.

  • Scott Hanson, Permanent Member
  • Won-Chan Lee, Chair
  • Duanli Yan, Member
  • Laine Bradshaw, Member
  • Yong He, Member
  • Stella Kim, Member
  • Mahnaz Charania, Member
  • Tong Wu, Student Member


Donations to the Bradley A. Hanson Memorial Fund may be made using the online form below or may be made payable to the Arizona Community Foundation.

Arizona Community Foundation
Bradley A. Hanson Memorial Fund
2201 E. Camelback Road, Suite 405B
Phoenix, Arizona 85016

Don't Forget: You can also donate to the Alicia Cascallar Memorial Fund/PACF. 
Donations to the fund may be made payable to The Alicia Cascallar Memorial Fund/PACF.

The Alicia Cascallar Memorial Fund/PACF
15 Princess Road
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648

Committee Members
8 Members