Annual Award Committee

The NCME Annual Award is established to recognize exceptional achievement in multiple categories. To be eligible for this award, the contribution must have occurred initially during the previous three years.

(1) The award may be given to recognize an outstanding technical or scientific contribution to public or the field of educational measurement, which could include book or publication which is an application of technology, or innovative ways of solving practical and theoretical measurement problems, inventive instrument development techniques, creative testing procedures or products, and scientific contributions of measurement to research methodology.

(2) The award may also be given to recognize exceptional service, such as a practitioner might provide to a state, district, consortia, or client, excellence in teaching, or outstanding mentorship. Exceptional service might include novel, technically sound methods of addressing real-world issues, facilitating data usage in making decisions, such as designing exceptionally informative score reports, and so on.

Past Recipients

2016 Mark J. Gierl & Hollis Lai
2017 Kyung (Chris) Han
2018 Dr. Sean Reardon, Dr. Andrew Ho, Dr. Benjamin Shear, Dr. Erin Fahle, Dr. Demetra Kalogrides, Dr. Ken Shores, and Dr. Katherine Castellano 
(Note: Prior to 2016, the Annual Award was given in one of the following three categories each year):

Outstanding Dissemination of Educational Measurement Concepts to the Public

1983 Carol Robinson and Sandra O'Neal, Albuquerque Public Schools
1986 James Mitchell, Buros Institute for Mental Measurement
1992 Australian Council for Educational Research
1995 Admission and Guidance Services Division, The College Board
1998 The Seattle Times
2001 Rebecca Zwick and Richard J. Stiggins
2004 Larry Rudner
2007 Gregory J. Cizek
2010 Damian W. Betebenner and Richard J. Wenning

Outstanding Example of Application of Educational Measurement Technology to a Specific Problem

1984 Trudy W. Banta
1987 Jerry Jenkins
1990 R. Darrell Bock and Bob Mislevy
1993 Martha Stocking and Len Swanson
1996 Wim van der Linden
1999 National Council of Architectural Registration Boards
2002 No recipient
2005 Sarah Hartz and Louis Roussos
2008 Hua-Hua Chang and Zhiliang Ying
2011 Sun-Joo Cho, Allan Cohen, Seock-Ho Kim, and Brian Bottge
2014 Sun-Joo Cho, Jennifer Gilbert, and Amanda Goodwin

Outstanding Technical or Scientific Contribution to the Field of Educational Measurement

1985 Kikumi L. Tatsuoka
1988 Robert Mislevy, Albert Beaton, Eugene Johnson, and Kathleen M. Sheehan
1991 Fumiko Samejima
1994 William F. Stout
1997 Susan Embretson, Michael J. Kolen and Robert L. Brennan
2000 Robert Mislevy, Linda Steinberg and Robert Almond
2003 Jim Ramsey
2006 Howard Wainer, Eric Bradlow, and Xiaohui Wang
2009 Shelby Haberman, Sandip Sinharay, and Gautam Puham
2012 Derek Briggs
2015 Sandip Sinharay, Shelby Haberman, and Kyong Hee Chon

Committee Members

This committee is responsible for all steps associated with the selection and recognition of the recipient of the Annual NCME Award. The focus of this award rotates annually among the following three themes: a) Technical or Scientific Contributions to the Field of Educational Measurement, b) Outstanding Example of Application of Educational Measurement Technology to a Specific Problem, and c) Outstanding Dissemination of Educational Measurement Concepts to the Public.

Jessalyn Smith, Chair
Melinda Montgomery, Chair-Elect 
Lori Nebelsick-Gullett
Amanda Wolkowitz
Brian Habing
Tia (Sukin) Fechter