NCME Career Contribution Award

The NCME Award for Career Contributions to Educational Measurement is an annual award and honors a person whose contributions over a career have had a widespread positive impact on the field of educational measurement. These influential contributions might include one or more of the following: theoretical or technical developments; ideas or conceptualizations of information to the public about educational measurement that has widely influence public understanding; and/or applications of theory through procedures, instrument, or program development that have influenced broadly the nature of measurement and practice. The recipient of the award will receive a monetary award of $3,000. Additionally, there will be a plenary award ceremony with an invited presentation by the award recipient at the Annual Meeting.

Call for Nominations

A nomination must include an electronic copy (or 8 paper copies) of: (1) a one- or two- page summary of the nature, significance, and impact of the nominee’s contribution to the field of educational measurement; and (2) an up-to-date vita of the nominee. Additional supporting documentation is also welcome. Nominations from one year are carried over for consideration for the next award. Updated materials are encouraged for nominees who will be reconsidered. Nominations should be made by an NCME member.​

The nominator and the nominee agree that the nominee will not be a candidate for a similar AERA award in 2018 or a candidate for additional NCME awards that will be given during the 2018 Annual Meeting.

Eligibility Criteria:

1. Member of NCME at the time of the Award.

2. Overall impact of the individual’s contributions to the field through theoretical contributions to measurement methodology, applied research that has influenced the work of many other researchers, insightful analyses that have influence the thought of measurement professional and policy makers, and/or the development of instruments that have set standards of excellence in testing.

3. Scholarship in the field of measurement through publications that have material advanced the use of measurement in education and education-related contexts; publications that have had a pronounced effect on measurement practices and research; publications that have significantly advanced the measurement training of teachers, administrators, test developers, and others who use educational measurement in their daily work; and/or publications that have helped to resolve long-standing problems, addressed important social issues, attacked problems that few others have been willing or able to consider, or provided new and critical insights.

4. Service to the profession through contributions to professional organizations, including service on committees, editorial committees, editorial activities, and office holding (with particular emphasis on NCME service) and/or through consultation, speaking, advocacy, recruitment, and willingness to accept responsibilities of leadership.

For additional information, go to the NCME Website or contact Allan Cohen at

Past Recipients

1988 Melvin Novick
1989 Ralph Tyler
1990 Frederic M. Lord
1991 Albert N. Hieronymus
1992 T. Anne Cleary (posthumously)
1993 Ronald K. Hambleton
1994 Leonard S. Feldt
1995 Robert L. Linn
1996 Jason Millman
1997 William Mehrens
1998 Richard M. Jaeger
1999 Loretta Shepard
2000 Robert L. Brennan
2001 Sylvia T. Johnson
2002 James W. Popham
2003 Robert Mislevy
2004 Paul Holland
2005 Wim J. van der Linden
2006 Barbara Plake
2007 Howard Wainer
2008 Michael J. Kolen
2009 Michael T. Kane
2010 Neil Dorans
2011 Ed Haertel
2012 Allan Cohen
2013 Susan Embretson
2015 David Thissen
2016 Mark Reckase
2017 Dr. Linda Cook
2018 Dr. Brian E. Clauser 

Anita Rawls, Chair
Michael Jodoin, Chair Elect
Allan Cohen, Member
Neil Dorans, Member
Jie Gao, Member
Michael Kolen, Member
Benjamin Marsh, Student
©2017 National Council on Measurement in Education