Career Contributions Award

The NCME Award for Career Contributions to Educational Measurement is an annual award and honors a person whose contributions over a career have had a widespread positive impact on the field of educational measurement. These influential contributions might include one or more of the following: theoretical or technical developments; ideas or conceptualizations of information to the public about educational measurement that has widely influence public understanding; and/or applications of theory through procedures, instrument, or program development that have influenced broadly the nature of measurement and practice. The recipient of the award will receive a monetary award of $3,000. Additionally, there will be a plenary award ceremony with an invited presentation by the award recipient at the Annual Meeting.

2024 AWARD

A nomination must include an electronic copy of: (1) a one- or two-page summary of the nature, significance, and impact of the nominee’s contribution to the field of educational measurement from the nominator; and (2) an up-to-date vita of the nominee. Additional supporting documentation is also welcome. Nominations from one year are carried over for consideration for the next award. Updated materials are encouraged for nominees who will be reconsidered. Nominations should be made by an NCME member.  The nominator and the nominee agree that the nominee will not simultaneously be a candidate for a similar AERA career award or a candidate for additional NCME awards to be given during the 2024 Annual Meetings.

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Member of NCME at the time of the Award.
  2. Overall impact of the individual’s contributions to the field through theoretical contributions to measurement methodology, applied research that has influenced the work of many other researchers, insightful analyses that have influenced the thought of measurement professional and policy makers, and/or the development of instruments that have set standards of excellence in testing.
  3. Scholarship in the field of measurement through publications that have materially advanced the use of measurement in education and education-related contexts; publications that have had a pronounced effect on measurement practices and research; publications that have significantly advanced the measurement training of teachers, administrators, test developers, and others who use educational measurement in their daily work; and/or publications that have helped to resolve long-standing problems, addressed important social issues, attacked problems that few others have been willing or able to consider, or provided new and critical insights.
  4. Service to the profession through contributions to professional organizations, including service on committees, editorial committees, editorial activities, and office holding (with particular emphasis on NCME service) and/or through consultation, speaking, advocacy, recruitment, and willingness to accept responsibilities of leadership.

Submit electronic files of all materials by January 5, 2024 to Christina Schneider ( with CC to the NCME Awards Board Liaison, Li Cai (, and the NCME management office (

Past Recipients

  • 1988 Melvin Novick
  • 1989 Ralph Tyler
  • 1990 Frederic M. Lord
  • 1991 Albert N. Hieronymus
  • 1992 T. Anne Cleary (posthumously)
  • 1993 Ronald K. Hambleton
  • 1994 Leonard S. Feldt
  • 1995 Robert L. Linn
  • 1996 Jason Millman
  • 1997 William Mehrens
  • 1998 Richard M. Jaeger
  • 1999 Loretta Shepard
  • 2000 Robert L. Brennan
  • 2001 Sylvia T. Johnson
  • 2002 James W. Popham
  • 2003 Robert Mislevy
  • 2004 Paul Holland
  • 2005 Wim J. van der Linden
  • 2006 Barbara Plake
  • 2007 Howard Wainer
  • 2008 Michael J. Kolen
  • 2009 Michael T. Kane
  • 2010 Neil Dorans
  • 2011 Ed Haertel
  • 2012 Allan Cohen
  • 2013 Susan Embretson
  • 2015 David Thissen
  • 2016 Mark Reckase
  • 2017 Dr. Linda Cook
  • 2018 Dr. Brian E. Clauser 
  • 2019 Shelby Haberman
  • 2020 Mark Wilson
  • 2021 Hua Hua Chang
  • 2022 William Stout
  • 2023 Henry Braun


  • Christina Schneider, Chair
  • Chun Wang
  • Steve Ferrara
  • Susan Embretson
  • Michael Edwards

Career Contributions Award